Press Release - Nine SMC Schools Win Golden Ribbon Award

Nine SMC Schools Win Gold Ribbon Award

REDWOOD CITY, CALIF. – Nine elementary schools from six districts in San Mateo County are being honored by the California Department of Education (CDE) as part of the Gold Ribbon Schools Awards Program.

This award was created to recognize schools in place of the California Distinguished Schools Program, which is on hiatus while California works to put new assessment and accountability systems in place. Elementary schools are honored in even years, while middle and high schools are honored in odd years.

To apply, schools were required to submit an application describing a model program at their site—something that benefitted unique student populations and could be replicated by other education agencies. Those selected to receive a Gold Ribbon Award demonstrated significant gains in their implementation of the State Board of Education's academic and performance standards, including the California English Language Development Standards and the Next Generation Science Standards.

The winning schools from San Mateo County are as follows: 

  • Roosevelt Elementary School, Burlingame School District
  • South Hillsborough School, Hillsborough City School District
  • Encinal School, Menlo Park City School District
  • Meadows Elementary School, Millbrae Elementary School District
  • Clifford Elementary School, Redwood City School District
  • Hoover Elementary School, Redwood City School District
  • Roy Cloud School, Redwood City School District
  • Taft Community School, Redwood City School District
  • Martin Elementary School, South San Francisco Unified School District

To read the full release, click here