Gateway Community School

Gateway Community School is located on Tower Road in San Mateo. It is a temporary education program that gives students a chance to positively re-engage in their learning and make progress toward high school graduation. Students may be referred to Gateway by their home school or district, by the Probation Department, or by other agencies serving youth. Students typically participate in the Gateway program for one or two semesters and may stay longer, with permission.

While enrolled at Gateway, students have opportunities to receive instruction in the core subject areas required for a high school diploma, make up for coursework they may have missed, work toward a High School Equivalency Test (formerly GED) with support from tutors, participate in counseling programs, and work on developing positive habits that will help them be successful in their return to a district school program.

The Gateway program also offers students a variety of opportunities to be involved in leadership activities, such as Project Friendship, the Student Senate, and Project Change, a partnership with the College of San Mateo. 

Gateway Community School
35 Tower Road
San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone: (650) 598-2150
Fax: (650) 598-2191 

Administration

Nancy Magee
Associate Superintendent, Student Services
nmagee@smcoe.org

Jenee' Littrell
Administrator, Safe and Supportive Schools
jlittrell@smcoe.org

Administrative Support

KarieAn Craig

School Administrative Assistant
kacraig@smcoe.org

Mario Tejada
Custodian
mtejada@smcoe.org

Teachers

Jennifer Angers 
jangers@smcoe.org

Pam Lucero 
plucero@smcoe.org

Para-professionals

Ana Espinoza
aespinoza@smcoe.org

Probation Staff

Erick Rogers 

Probation Group Supervisor
erogers@smcoe.org