Hillcrest School

Hillcrest School is located in the San Mateo Youth Services Center, a secure facility providing temporary care for youth who have been detained and are awaiting a hearing or a court-ordered placement. The average stay at Hillcrest is approximately 35 days. The enrollment requires teachers at a 20:1 student to teacher ratio. There is a Directed Studies teacher. The special education program includes a Resource Specialist, special day classes, a Speech-Language Pathologist and School Psychologists. English learners receive specialized services. Multiple classroom aides are assigned to the school. The curriculum is standards-based and individualized so that student progress is maintained. Hillcrest School can serve a maximum capacity of 180 students.

Principal

Sibané Parcels
sparcels@smcoe.org

Teachers

Debra Anand 
SDC
danand@smcoe.org

Evette Ascani
Science
eascani@smcoe.org

Deborah Budesa
HiSET
dbudesa@smcoe.org

John Bordagaray
Social Science
jbordagaray@smcoe.org

Shelly Caress
Transition Support
scaress@smcoe.org

Kathy Catalano
English
kcatalano@smcoe.org

Trevor Leach
Assessment Support
tleach@smcoe.org

Pam Lucero
RSP
plucero@smcoe.org

Doris Murai
Directed Studies
dmurai@smcoe.org

Sally Ploe
ELD/Curriculum Support
sploe@smcoe.org

Calvin Sadhu
PE
csadhu@smcoe.org

Debbie Schindler
RSP
dschindler@smcoe.org

Roger Wroblewski
Math
rwroblewski@smcoe.org

David Gale
Speech Therapist
dgale@smcoe.org

Paraeducators

Jose Giacoman
jgiacoman@smcoe.org

Mercedita Laudenorio
mlaudenorio@smcoe.org

Mary Mani
mmani@smcoe.org

Sara Ortiz
sortiz@smcoe.org