New Standards and Assessment

At a Glance

A guide to understanding the new state standards for parents and community members. These new standards include the Common Core State Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and SBAC. Other assessments, including the CAHSEE and CELDT, are also described.

Common Core

California has a unique opportunity to improve public education through the adoption of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) which are designed to increase expectations, make students globally competitive, go deeper into subjects and provide for a more active curriculum.


Three-Minute Video Explaining the Common Core State Standards from CGCS Video Maker on Vimeo.

Learn more on the "Common Core - English Language Arts" and "Common Core - Mathematics" pages.


NGSS, the science equivalent to the Common Core standards for English and mathematics, emphasizes a deeper understanding of concepts within scientific disciplines, integrating engineering and science practices to help students understand the workings of science and the natural world. They also provide a progression of learning from kindergarten through grade 12 so that students learn step by step the knowledge and skills they need for college and careers.

Learn more on the "Next Generation Science Standards" page.

Smarter Balanced (SBAC)

The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, or SBAC, is a government-funded consortium that is developing assessments to test Common Core standards. These new assessments, called Smarter Balanced assessments, are computer-based, cover English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics standards and will provide information on college- and career-readiness.

Learn more on the "Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)" page.


The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System is a series of assessments to assist educators and families in supporting student learning.

The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English.

Learn more on the "Testing Information" page.