Common Core - Mathematics

Common Core - Mathematics

At a Glance

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are intended to be the next step toward providing every student with a powerful education. They provide a description of what students should know and be able to do in English Language Arts and Mathematics as they progress through their K-12 education in order to graduate prepared for success.

What are the key shifts in Mathematics?

The following are the key shifts called for by the Common Core State Standards:

    1. Greater focus on fewer topics
    2. Coherence: Linking topics and thinking across grades
    3. Rigor:  Pursue conceptual understanding, procedural skills and fluency 

Why is the sequence of key math topics in the math standards important?

The Common Core mathematics standards are foundation based, which means they build and expand on topics students learned in previous years. This sequenced "staircase" approach allows students to link topics between grade levels and gain a deeper understanding of key concepts.

What should I expect my student to learn as they advance from kindergarten through grade 8?

Learn more about what students are expected to learn by clicking on the PDF associated with your student's grade level:

Kindergarten:  English & Spanish 

First Grade:  English & Spanish

Second Grade:  English & Spanish

Third Grade:  English & Spanish

Fourth Grade:  English & Spanish

Fifth Grade:  English & Spanish

Sixth Grade:  English & Spanish

Seventh Grade:  English & Spanish

Eighth Grade:  English & Spanish

This information is also available in Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, and Vietnamese:

Additional Resources