The California Department of Education announced 323 elementary schools that are being honored under the 2020 California Distinguished School Award Program for achieving exceptional student performance. In San Mateo County, eight elementary schools are recognized, the highest number of schools since the program was renewed in 2018:

  • Central Elementary (Belmont-Redwood Shores Elementary School District)
  • Hoover Elementary (Burlingame Elementary School District)
  • Thomas Edison Elementary (Jefferson Elementary School District)
  • Westlake Elementary (Jefferson Elementary School District)
  • Las Lomitas Elementary (Las Lomitas Elementary School District)
  • Oak Knoll Elementary (Menlo Park City School District)
  • White Oaks Elementary (San Carlos School District)
  • Baywood Elementary (San Mateo-Foster City School District)

The Distinguished School Award program honors schools based on their performance and progress on the state indicators for two consecutive school years, as described on the California School Dashboard. The program alternates recognitions between elementary schools and middle and high schools every other year, with awardees holding their title for two years. In San Mateo County, six elementary schools were recognized by the Distinguished Schools Program in 2018 and three middle schools were recognized in 2019. This is the first year that at least one school in the Jefferson Elementary School District and San Carlos School District is recognized.

The schools will be recognized at an upcoming San Mateo County Board of Education meeting at the California School Recognition Program Awards Ceremony on February 10, 2020. To view a list of the 2020 California Distinguished Schools, please visit the California Department of Education’s website.