San Mateo County, CA — Thirty San Mateo County elementary schools from 12 school districts received a 2023 California Distinguished School Award from the California Department of Education for their progress in supporting student success.

The California Distinguished School Award program honors schools that performed well on several State indicators displayed on the 2022 California School Dashboard, such as suspension rate, chronic absenteeism, and student performance in English/Language Arts and Mathematics. The State alternates between honoring elementary schools and middle and high schools, with awardees holding their title for two years.

Both the Dashboard and award program were paused last year after the COVID-19 pandemic temporarily suspended reporting of state and local student data. This year, the Dashboard was reintroduced to establish a new baseline for measuring school and district progress. This year’s award recipients were determined using the one-year performance data only, unlike in previous years, and did not undergo an application process to receive recognition.

“This year’s impressive list of California Distinguished Schools in San Mateo County is a testatment to the resiliency of our students, staff, and families countywide. We have much to be proud of as our schools have worked hard to re-establish caring and inclusive learning environments that best support student learning and growth,” said San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools Nancy Magee. “Our 2023 honorees provide concrete examples of this resiliency in action, and we look forward to honoring their hard work and achievement.”

The 2023 San Mateo County awardees, listed below, will be recognized at a future San Mateo County Board of Education meeting. To view a list of all 2023 California Distinguished Schools, please visit the California Department of Education’s website.

  • Belmont-Redwood Shores Elementary, Central Elementary
  • Belmont-Redwood Shores Elementary, Fox Elementary
  • Belmont-Redwood Shores Elementary, Redwood Shores Elementary
  • Burlingame Elementary, Lincoln Elementary
  • Burlingame Elementary, Franklin Elementary
  • Burlingame Elementary, Hoover Elementary
  • Burlingame Elementary, Washington Elementary
  • Hillsborough City Elementary, South Hillsborough
  • Hillsborough City Elementary, West Hillsborough
  • Hillsborough City Elementary, North Hillsborough
  • Jefferson Elementary, Marjorie H. Tobias Elementary
  • Jefferson Elementary, California Virtual Academy San Mateo
  • Las Lomitas Elementary, Las Lomitas Elementary
  • Menlo Park City Elementary, Encinal Elementary
  • Menlo Park City Elementary, Laurel Elementary
  • Menlo Park City Elementary, Oak Knoll Elementary
  • Millbrae Elementary, Spring Valley Elementary
  • Portola Valley Elementary, Ormondale Elementary
  • Redwood City Elementary, North Star Academy
  • San Carlos Elementary, Arundel Elementary
  • San Carlos Elementary, White Oaks Elementary
  • San Carlos Elementary, Mariposa
  • San Carlos Elementary, Arroyo
  • San Carlos Elementary, Heather Elementary
  • San Carlos Elementary, San Carlos Charter Learning Center
  • San Carlos School District, Brittan Acres Elementary
  • San Mateo-Foster City, College Park Elementary
  • San Mateo-Foster City, North Shoreview Montessori
  • South San Francisco Unified, Monte Verde Elementary
  • South San Francisco Unified, Buri Buri Elementary


The San Mateo County Office of Education is committed to ensuring excellence and equity in education by inspiring students, investing in teachers, invigorating leaders, and involving communities.

Published January 18, 2023