San Mateo County SELPA 

Welcome to the San Mateo County Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA) website.  Our website is designed for your use to access important information about special education for students with disabilities. 

In 1977, all school districts and county offices were mandated to form consortiums in geographical regions of sufficient size and scope to provide for all special education service needs of children residing within the region boundaries. Each region, Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA), developed a local plan describing how it would provide special education services.

There are over 130 SELPAs in the State, ranging in size from those serving fewer than 1,000 students to those serving more than 10,000 students. The San Mateo County SELPA, serving over 10,000 students, is one of the larger SELPAs in the State of California.

Each SELPA must have an Administrative Unit (AU) which is the legal entity that receives funds and is responsible for seeing that every eligible child receives appropriate services. The AU for the San Mateo County SELPA is the San Mateo County Office of Education which provides a variety of instructional, business, and consulting services that enhance the ability of districts to provide quality education.

For more information about the role of SELPA in special education, please go to www.cde.ca.gov.

Learn More

Appropriate Dispute Resolution (ADR) and Resources

General Information (SELPA Governance, Meetings and Related Documents)

Parent and Community (Community Advisory Committee and Resources)

Staff Resources (Policies, Documents, Forms, and Professional Development)

Anjanette Pelletier

Associate Superintendent

Email: apelletier@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5465

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Natasha King

Manager

Email: nking@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5471

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Karen Breslow

Coordinator/SEIS

Email: kbreslow@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5473

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Ben Loewy

SBMH SMOE/LCI/LEA Coordinator

Email: bloewy@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5468

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Mary Yung

Coordinator

Email: myung@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5347

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Eugenie Obina

Student Services Specialist

Email: eobina@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5462

Fax: (650) 802-5474

Lilian Flores

Administrative Assistant

Email: lflores@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5464

Fax: (650) 802-5474