Appropriate Dispute Resolution

The San Mateo County SELPA Office provides IEP Team members with a variety of Appropriate Dispute Resolution (ADR) strategies when disagreements stall decision making in an IEP meeting. ADR options utilize neutral facilitators or neutral panel members who guide the team through specific strategies to yield creative, legally compliant, and collaborative solutions. Along the way, IEP Team members learn to communicate openly and heal damaged relationships while crafting stronger plans for students with special educational needs. Through ADR, IEP Teams ultimately retain control of the decision making process, rather than abdicating to a hearing officer or judge who dictates one and only one solution without ever even meeting the student, or seeing the classroom options.

ADR is:

  • Rapidly Responsive - Appointments are typically scheduled within three days to two weeks
  • Free of Charge - No fees associated with any of these options
  • Confidential - Information is shared outside of the process on a “need to know” basis
  • Protective of Legal Rights - No one relinquishes their right to pursue legal remedies, should they not be satisfied with the outcome of an ADR strategy
  • Focused on Desired Outcomes - Written agreements are integrated into the IEP document, with support provided for progress monitoring

If you need more information about the ADR process, please read the documents in the Resources section below.

Resources

 

Dr. Mary Yung

Executive Director, SELPA

Email: myung@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5465

Natasha King

Manager

Email: nking@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5471

Karen Breslow

Data/ADR/Compliance Coordinator

Email: kbreslow@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5473

Ben Loewy

SBMH SMCOE/LCI/LEA Coordinator

Email: bloewy@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5468

Eugenie Obina

Student Services Specialist

Email: eobina@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5462

Lilian Flores

Administrative Assistant III

Email: lflores@smcoe.org

Phone: (650) 802-5464