County Committee on School District Organization (CCSDO)

The County Committee on School District Organization (CCSDO) is an independent, 11-member elected body charged by the State to study and make recommendations and decisions on school district reorganization; establishing, rearranging, and abolishing trustee areas; and changing the number of governing board members.  The committee's responsibilities include revising its countywide Master Plan for school district organization.  An action to reorganize school districts can refer to any one of the following:

  1. Transfer of territory between/among school districts;
  2. School district unification or deunification; 
  3. Dissolution or lapsation of a school district; 
  4. Annexation of all or part of one district to another district;
  5. Establishment/abolishment of trustee areas and increase/decrease in the number of trustees; and 
  6. Formation of new districts of all types from territory of existing districts 

CCSDO Membership

Committee members serve four-year terms. Members are elected by the voting representatives of each of the 23 school district governing boards, as well as the voting representative of the governing board of the community college district.  If district representatives fail to elect members to the committee, the County Superintendent may appoint the necessary number of members.  Committee member terms are staggered so that five or six members are elected in one year with the remainder elected in another year.  Committee members serve without pay.

  • Ten members represent the five San Mateo County supervisorial districts, with two members representing each of the districts
  • One member is at-large
  • Often, individuals most interested in serving on the committee are past or current school board members
  • School board members are allowed by the CA Education Code to serve in a dual role, as an active School Board member and a committee member 

Current CCSDO Members

Name Supervisorial District Term Expires Fall
Dennis McBride At-Large 2021
Greg Dannis District 1 (Dave Pine) 2022
Lynne Esselstein District 1 (Dave Pine) 2022
Colleen You District 2 (Carole Groom) 2021
Melchior Thompson District 2 (Carole Groom) 2021
Rosie Tejada District 3 (Don Horsley) 2022
Virginia Bamford District 3 (Don Horsley) 2022
Hilary Paulson District 4 (Warren Slocum) 2021
Maria Hilton District 4 (Warren Slocum) 2022
Lillian Markind District 5 (David Canepa) 2021
Bill Lock District 5 (David Canepa) 2022

CCSDO Meeting Schedule, Agendas, Minutes, and Notices

CCSDO meetings are held on Mondays beginning at 7:00 p.m.  During the period in which state or local officials have imposed or recommended social distancing measures, and Governor Newsom’s Executive Order N-29-20 remains in effect, meetings will be conducted by videoconference.  Upon return to in-person meetings, meetings will be held at the San Mateo County Office of Education (101 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065), unless noted otherwise.  Public hearings related to matters before the committee are held throughout the county as required by law.  Special meetings may be called by the chairperson or by a quorum of the committee.  Meetings are subject to the provisions of the Brown Act.

2021 CCSDO Meeting Schedule, Agendas, Minutes, and Notices

Date   Agenda or Cancellation Notice  Approved Minutes Notice of Public Hearing   
Jan 11, 2021 Notice  n/a  
Feb 8, 2021 Notice  n/a  
Mar 1, 2021 Notice  n/a  
Apr 5, 2021 Notice  n/a  
May 3, 2021 Agenda Minutes  
Jun 7, 2021 Notice n/a  
June 10, 2021  n/a Public Hearing 1 Minutes, Public Hearing 2 Minutes Public Hearing 1 Notice, Public Hearing 2 Notice
Jul 12, 2021 Agenda Minutes  
Aug 9, 2021 Agenda Minutes  
Sept 13, 2021 Agenda    
Oct 4, 2021      
Nov 1, 2021 - GBR and Regular Meetings      
Dec 6, 2021      


CCSDO Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Recent Territory Transfers


Transfer of Territory Handbook 

The CCSDO is charged by the State to study and make recommendations and decisions on school district reorganization. Transferring territory between/among school districts is one type of school district reorganization. The committee has developed the Transfer of Territory Handbook to clarify the process for submitting a petition to transfer territory.

Other Resources

Agendas, Minutes, and Completed Petitions Archive

Agendas and minutes prior to 2019, along with information regarding earlier completed petitions, are available upon request.  Please contact Jennifer Perna at (650) 802-5552.


Niambi Clay

Executive Director, Equity, Social Justice, and Inclusion, and Secretary to the CCSDO


Phone: (650) 802-5553

Fax: (650) 802-5564

Jennifer Perna

Executive Assistant to the San Mateo County Board of Education


Phone: (650) 802-5552